REACH

Every time I start to doubt, and feel as if everything I do will never accomplish anything, I comfort myself with one single word. Reach.

Image

 

I love making Youtube videos. It’s a great medium to share my music and my thoughts in an environment where I wont get told off for talking too much. And people watch them, not many, but some. I like that, I’d like to make that grow. I feel as  though if somehow I’m able to build a following on Youtube, find enough people that like me, then I can accomplish anything, make the music I like, write whatever I feel like and not have to work a job that makes my brain drip out through my ears and spill onto the floor. However, whenever I articulate this particular goal, the person I’m speaking with will always, without fail, take it on themselves to explain to me just why that dream is so impossible… but isn’t that what dreams are for? To strive and cry and strain and breathe and bleed and fail but keep going anyway just to maintain the opportunity to make the impossible possible? But I’d be lying if I said it didn’t get to me… which is when I tell myself that one thing. REACH!

 

There are over 6 billion people in this world, and if only 1% of them liked my music then that’s 60 million people! It’s a fan base too large to even fathom. Thinking about it reasonably, if I one day managed 5000 subscribers, people who like my music, watch my videos, and look forward to the things that I made, then I would be perfectly content. That’s less than 0.0001% of the population. But that’s irrelevant, because my music wont ever reach the whole population for them to hear it, but just how far can I reach?

 

Well let’s say through my Facebook posts my videos reach 1000 people, applying my own equation I’ve now gained 10 fans. Maybe through Twitter I reach another 1000 and possibly 5000 through my Soundcloud, this now leaves me with 70 fans. If I can manage to keep expanding my reach, surely my following will continue to grow. This is what I hold onto, this is what fuels my determination. We’re lucky enough to be living in a world driven by technology and social networking, and I plan to take full advantage. I don’t really have talent, I don’t mind admitting that, but I built something that was mine and it’s exhilarating so if it’s not enough then I will bridge that gap with sheer perseverance.

 

I encourage you to do to do the same. Because everyone has a dream, right?

3 thoughts on “REACH

  1. You bet everyone has a dream, but make your videos and music because you love it! Why do we always care what others think and say? I have purpose to follow my heart’s desire, the one that God put there. May the Lord bless your sweet music and your videos. May you find His peace and fulfillment in being beautiful you. I love this quote by Harriet Tubman… “Every great dream begins with a dreamer. Always remember, you have within you the strength, the patience, and the passion to reach for the stars to change the world.” Go for it!

  2. i agree with what you say missvex but with one qualification….numbers don’t provide validity to your worth as an artist. you do by projecting who you are.

    nobody was interested in the works of vincent van gogh when he was alive. was society right? sometimes the confidence in what we create from nothing, that then exists for all time is all we have to keep us going.

Leave a Reply

